VI Resources for Educators

What is Visual Impairment (VI)?

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) officially defines the category as “an impairment in vision that, even with correction, adversely affects a child’s educational performance. The term includes both partial sight and blindness.”

Tools for reading                                     

Tools for learning about braille/literacy



Expanded Core

“In addition to all the core curricular areas included in the general educational curriculum, students with a visual impairment need to be assessed and receive instruction in very specific skills that have been demonstrated to be potential problem areas for persons with a visual disability.”
– Wisconsin National Agenda


The Nine Specific Skill Areas listed below comprise the Expanded Core Curriculum (ECC):
  1. Assistive Technology
  2. Career & Vocational Education/Transition
  3. Compensatory Skills
  4. Independent Living Skills & Personal Management
  5. Orientation and Mobility Skills
  6. Recreation and Leisure Skills
  7. Self Determination
  8. Social Skills
  9. Sensory Efficiency Skills